You can find a grat variety of glutenfree flours. There are rice, corn, oat sorhum flour and so more but some of them are difficult to find in a regular supermarket. In this post you will learn which flours are suitable for coeliacs and some tips.

*Sorry if the translation of the names of the different flours is not the best. Some Spanish names are difficult to translate into English. I hope this post will be helpful and you can learn about the different gluten-free flours.

glutenfree flours

At the beginning of any diet, you look for foods you can and cannot eat. When you’re first told that you can’t tolerate gluten, the first thing that goes through your mind is: can I eat bread, pizza, cookies and cookies? How can I bake cookies? What kind of flour should I use? You can bake bread, pizza and cookies, but only with the right flour. Basically, you need a gluten-free flour.

In the spain there are some supermarkets like mercadona, aldi or lidl that sell gluten-free flours such as rice flour and corn flour. These flours are gluten-free and are the most common when preparing cakes (as they are the easiest to find and the cheapest)

*There are some flours that come from gluten-free grains (e.g., rice flour or corn flour) but aren’t suitable for celiacs because they contain traces of other grains containing gluten. A gluten-free flour is the one with the guarantee “gluten-free” and also without traces of other cereals.

The best glutenfree flours

The glutenfree flours I usually use for cooking and baking are:


glutenfree flours
  1. Rice flour
    White rice flour is mainly used to make cakes and bread by combining it with other flours. It is also used to make glutenfree sourdough starter.
  2. Corn flour
    Perfect for thickening sauces and using in small portions in pancake, cake or bread recipes.
  3. Oat flour
    It is easy to get and can be used in almost any recipe.
  4. Whole grain rice flour Perfect for making whole grain breads or adding more fiber to a recipe.

There are many types of glutenfree flours, some work better than others in baking and cooking.

Flour is basically the powder you get from grinding grains or seeds. If that cereal contains gluten, it is not suitable for coeliacs. But what is gluten? Gluten is a protein that you can find in some cereals or seeds.

People with celiac disease or gluten intolerance do not tolerate this protein and should therefore avoid consuming cereals containing gluten.

Flours or cereals WITH GLUTEN that you should avoid if you are gluten intolerant or have celiac disease

Cereals containing gluten are:

As you can see, oats aren’t included in this list because they don’t contain gluten. But keep in mind that oats contain “avenin,” which can cause a cross-reaction and is usually contaminated with trace amounts of other gluten-containing grains. Therefore, it’s important to buy oats that are labeled as “gluten-free” in the package.

Kamut is an ancient cereal. It’s the oldest known variety of wheat and doesn’t produce as many allergies and intolerances as modern wheat. If you have celiac disease, you should not consume it, but many gluten-intolerant people can tolerate it to.

glutenfree flours

GLUTENFREE cereal and pseudocereal flours

For a flour to be “gluten-free” it must be certified and be guaranteed to be 100% glutenfree. It must be free of traces of other cereals.

A flour that comes from a glutenfree grain such as rice or oats may not be suitable for coeliacs if it’s contaminated or contains traces of other cereals with gluten. (It is very important to look at the label of the flour before buying it).

Top 10 glutenfree flours

1.White rice flour
2.Whole grain rice flour
3.Corn flour
4.Oat flour
5.Sorghum flour
6.Harina de trigo serraceno “Serraceno wheat flour”
7.Millet flour
8.Teff flour
9.Quinoa flour
10.Amaranth flour

There are some flours obtained from nuts, roots or legumes, such as flax flour, almond flour, cassava flour, potato flour, chickpea flour… You can make some of this flours at home.

Here’s the list of gluten-free flours made from roots, seeds, nuts, dried fruits or legumes. All of these flours are gluten-free as long as the flour is guaranteed “gluten-free” and free of traces.

harina de raíces

Root and fruit flours

1.Yucca flour
2.Potato flour
3.Sweet potato flour
4.Plantain or green plantain flour

Some of these flours come from legumes. You can prepare them at home, you can grind lentils or chickpeas with a grain mill or food processor to get flour.

Legume flours

1.Chickpea flour
2.Lentil flour
3.White bean flour
4.Pea flour
5.Lupin flour
6.Soybean flour
7.Carob flour

harina sin gluten

Dried fruits and seed flours

Flours from dried fruits and other seeds.

1. Coconut flour
2.Almond flour
3.White bean flour
4.Sunflower seed flour
5.Pumpkin seed flou
6.Hemp seed flour
7.Chestnut flour
8.Peanut flour
9.Silt seed flour
10.Walnut flour
11.Sesame seed flour

FAQ

Which cereals DO contain gluten?

Grains containing gluten are: Wheat, barley, rye, kamut, spelt, and hybrid varieties, as well as products made from these grains, such as flours, starches, or semolina. If you’ve celiac disease, you should avoid eating flours or products containing these grains.

How can I make my own flour?

There are some gluten-free flours that you can make at home. You can make rice flour, almond flour, or brown rice flour. To do this, you simply need to grind the grains or nuts. You can use a grain mill or a very powerful food processor or blender to do this. I use my Thermomix to grind brown and white rice. To do this, simply add a cup or two of rice to the blender and grind for a few minutes until the rice becomes flour. To avoid overheating the blender or food processor, take a break and let it cool down a bit.

What’s the best flour for making sourdough?

The sourdough that’s worked best for me personally is white rice flour mixed with brown rice flour.

Can I replace wheat flour with a gluten-free flour? Do gluten-free flours work as well as wheat flour?

No, wheat flour is very different from gluten-free flours. Gluten is a protein that gives elasticity, sponginess and consistency to doughs. It’s not easy to substitute wheat flour and achieve the same result with gluten-free flours. Gluten-free flours don’t have the elasticity that wheat flour has. To achieve a spongy texture and soft crumb, you can use different gluten-free flours and ingredients like xanthan gum and psyllium husks.

Do oats contain gluten?

No, oats are a type of grain that doesn’t contain gluten. But be careful: if you want to consume oats, check that the packaging is gluten-free and doesn’t contain traces of other cereals.

Can I use kamut flour if I’ve celiac disease?

No. Kamut contains gluten, but it’s true that many people who’ve only some intolerance to gluten can tolerate this type of flour. Kamut is a very, very ancient grain that’s not been genetically modified and causes fewer allergies and intolerances than today’s soft wheat.

Where can I buy gluten-free flours?

Supermarkets such as Mercadona, Aldi, Lidl, Family Cash, Carrefur, Caprabo usually have gluten-free rice flour or corn flour. There are also some supermarkets that sell gluten-free flour mixes for baking from brands like Schar, Proceli, Airos, which are very good for baking cakes and pies.

Some flours like sorghum, amaranth, buckwheat, etc. are harder to find, but you can buy them on Amazon, in specialty stores or at Planeta Huerto.

What’s the best flour to start a gluten-free diet?

If you’re just starting out on a gluten-free diet, it’s best to start with white rice flour and corn flour. Not only are they easy to find in the supermarket, but you can also make many cake and cookie recipes with these two flours.

Learn how to make glutenfree sourdough starter in this post, click here

harinas aptas para celíacos

Podéis encontrar más información acerca de las harinas sin gluten en el post del blog glutendance haciendo clic aquí

Pin it for later

types of  gluten-free flours

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *